Artist of the Week: Khalid

Khalid-KT-01-SM-373x560Khalid Donnel Robinson formally known as Khalid was born in Georgia. As he grew up, he lived in Fort Campbell, Kentucky and Watertown, New York. He even spent six years in Germany due to his mother’s career in the military. Now Khalid calls El Paso Texas home. Khalid is the hot new R&B artist and rightfully so with his soulful “Young Dumb and Broke” ballad that has been the rave in 2017 and on going into 2018.

“Location” released in July 2016 was Khalid’s debut single and peaked at number 16 on the US Billboard Hot 100. His debut album “American Teen” was released on March 3rd 2017 and with that he released his second single off that album “Young Dumb and Broke”.

“Young Dumb and Broke” is Khalid’s first single to top the number one spot in U.S. R&R and New Zealand’s charts. Khalid was also the most searched artist of 2017 according to Bandsintown. Khalid’s song “The Ways” featuring Swae Lee was featured in the Marvel movie “Black Panther”

 

 

“From beginning to end, it’s the story of your average teenager going through a typical day in high school,” he explains. “In this day and age, young people face a lot of hardships, whether they’re mental problems, relationship problems, or problems with simply facing reality. I wanted to address that in a language someone younger than me can relate to, but that can also translate to somebody a bit older. High school was the same situation every day, but with a slightly different story.”

“It’s my own homecoming pre-graduation song,” he says. “It’s all about being an American teen. You get a visual of seeing your friends passed out in an Uber ride. You’re never going to experience your senior year of high school more than once—at least you shouldn’t,” he laughs.

“This is the post-graduation track,” he explains. “I never imagined I’d be where I am. I thought I would become a music teacher. I couldn’t even dream I’d be an artist. It’s got this sense of manifestation, which I’m a strong believer in.”

Upcoming tour dates

  • Saturday, March 17
  • Buenos Aires, Argentina at Lollapalooza Argentina
  • Sunday, March 18
  • Santiago, 12 at Lollapalooza Chile
  • Sunday, March 25
  • Sao Paulo, 27 at Lollapalooza Brazil
  • Tuesday, May 01
  • Portland, OR at Theatre of the Clouds at Moda Center
  • Wednesday, May 02
  • Vancouver, BC at Pepsi Live at Rogers Arena
  • Thursday, May 03
  • Seattle, WA at WaMu Theatre
  • Saturday, May 05
  • San Francisco, CA at Bill Graham Civic Auditorium
  • Sunday, May 06
  • San Francisco, CA at Bill Graham Civic Auditorium
  • Monday, May 07
  • Davis, CA at UC Davis ARC Pavilion
  • Wednesday, May 09
  • Los Angeles, CA at Greek Theatre
  • Thursday, May 10
  • Los Angeles, CA at Greek Theatre
  • Friday, May 11
  • Phoenix, AZ at Rawhide Event Center
  • Sunday, May 13
  • West Valley City, UT at Maverik Center
  • Monday, May 14
  • Morrison, CO at Red Rocks Amphitheatre
  • Wednesday, May 16
  • Dallas, TX at Allen Event Center
  • Thursday, May 17
  • Austin, TX at H-E-B Center at Cedar Park
  • Friday, May 18
  • Houston, TX at Smart Financial Centre
  • Tuesday, May 22
  • Atlanta, GA at Infinite Energy Center
  • Wednesday, May 23
  • Charlotte, NC at Metro Credit Union Amphitheatre
  • Friday, May 25
  • Philadelphia, PA at Festival Pier at Penn’s Landing
  • Saturday, May 26
  • Wallingford, CT at TOYOTA OAKDALE THEATRE
  • Wednesday, May 30
  • Toronto, ON at RBC Echo Beach
  • Thursday, May 31
  • Toronto, ON at RBC Echo Beach
  • Friday, June 01
  • Detroit, MI at Meadow Brook Amphitheatre
  • Monday, June 04
  • Baltimore, MD at Pier Six Pavilion

 

  • Tuesday, June 05
  • Baltimore, MD at Pier Six Pavilion
  • Thursday, June 07
  • Raleigh, NC at Red Hat Amphitheatre

 

  • Saturday, July 14
  • London, null at Hyde Park

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s