CD Review: Warren Haynes’ new CD release titled “Ashes and Dust” featuring Railroad Earth

warren_haynes_ashes_and_dustWarren Haynes has recently released a solo album featuring Railroad Earth titled ‘Ashes and Dust’ that was released on July 24th of this year. Haynes is best known for his role as guitarist of the Allman Brothers Band and founding member of Gov’t Mule. Warren Haynes’ smooth vocals excel in his most recent album with a touch of Americana and is a master on the guitar with the acoustic feel of this album. ‘Ashes and Dust’ is one of the most solid albums that I’ve heard all year and is the first album in a long time that I’ve listened to all the way through without skipping a track. Haynes poured out his heart and soul in ‘Ashes and Dust’ with songs like “Coal Tattoo” and “Company Man” as he channels his blue collar roots and salutes the working class of America.

Haynes is backed on this album by the very talented roots and Americana based Newgrass jam band, Railroad Earth. Railroad Earth is made up of Todd Sheaffer, Tim Carbone, John Skehan, Andy Goessling, Carey Harmon and Andrew Altman. This entire CD tells a story  with its instrumentals. The sounds of the mandolin, steel guitar, acoustic guitar and more the album would be complete as is but then you add in Warren Haynes on vocals and it is pure genius. Please take time to visit Warren Haynes official website and pick up a copy of this amazing album on CD, LP Vinyl, or download! There is also a deluxe CD for just a few dollars more that includes a bonus CD of a mixture of the songs as demos or live cuts! You will enjoy every song on this album as you will either be captivated by the instrumentalization of Haynes and Railroad Earth, the haunting melodies of Haynes and Grace potter as they collaborate on “Gold Dust Woman” or the smooth vocals that Haynes possesses on the rest of the album. This album has a traditional country/folk/Americana vibe and is a change of pace from the rocking electric guitar licks of Gov’t Mule and really gives the fan/listener a good understanding of Warren Haynes’ talent and versatility as an artist.

Album tracks:

  1. Is it me or you
  2. Coal tattoo
  3. Blue maiden’s tale
  4. Company man
  5. New year’s eve
  6. Stranded in self-pity
  7. Glory road
  8. Gold dust woman (featuring grace potter)
  9. Beat down the dust
  10. Wanderlust
  11. Spots of time
  12. Hallelujah boulevard
  13. Word on the wind

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s