Jake Ybarra’s “Something In The Water” Album Review

Jake Ybarra, a natural storyteller has an array of stories to share and like an painter, he paints these vivid images for the world to embrace. Introducing himself to the world with this debut album “Something in the Water” I am in sheer awe of the natural talent that is emerging from this masterpiece.

Opening the album with this nostalgic feeling evoking “Late November” tune. “Bloodfire”, jealous heart and a made up mind. This song paints an image of a small town couple going through it and battling jealousy mixed with a spitfire temper.

“Savannah’s Song” slows things down a bit with a soulful melody. “Here’s to hoping I find you in this darkness.” Absolutely beautiful from start to finish as Jake takes us through this travelers journey. Allegro tempo kicks in as Jake rolls into “A Whole Lot To Remember”. All around raw and edgy with a solid beat all the way through. A rockabilly tune that is certainly a highlight of the album for its unique style.

“Long Winter”, an uneasy romantic tune of a couple snowed in. “Call Me By My Name” is a life story that is relatable to the listener if they have ever long med for someone to have and to hold, to say that they are enough.

The title track “Something In The Water” creeps in with a dark spooky mood setting tone that draws you in to the story of what he is seeing and feeling. Also, Jake plays the acoustic guitar the entire song which is really impressive.

“Disappear”, “No Reason or Right”, and “Silly Little Things” round out the album stacked with stories and images that vividly entertain the ear of its listener.

Jake poured his heart and soul into this album, it’s easy to see. Jake’s penmanship is that of someone who has experienced life in its beauty and its ugliness. If there was a torch bearer
of the likes of John Denver and Bob Dylan, it’s hands down Jake Ybarra.

This album is a testament to how hard he worked to create a truly unique sound and experience for listeners as well as introducing himself to the world. I highly recommend listening to the album.

Track List (All songs written by Jake Ybarra)

1: Late November

2: BloodFire

3: Savannah’s Song

4: A Whole Lot To Remember

5: Long Winter

6: Call Me By My Name

7: Something In The Water 

8. Disappear

9: No Reason Or Right

10: Silly Little Things


Recorded at The Castle Studio in Nashville and produced by William Gawley (Taylor Hicks, Taylor McCall, Taylor Rae), SOMETHING IN THE WATER was engineered and mixed by Bryce Roberts (Lady A, Florida Georgia Line, Hootie & The Blowfish). The project brought together notable pickers, including David Flint on acoustic guitar/electric guitar/mandolin (Highway 101, Billy Montana); Dow Tomlin on bass (Wynonna, Brooks & Dunn, Lee Ann Womack); Dane Bryant on piano/organ (Dolly Parton, Olivia Newton John, Clint Black), and Billy Thomas on drums/backing vocals (Vince Gill, Willie Nelson, Miranda Lambert). Ybarra played acoustic guitar throughout. SOMETHING IN THE WATER, released by Charlotte Avenue Entertainment is available for pre-save now and will be available for purchase after midnight tonight. 

Stay social and learn more on Jake’s websiteFacebookInstagramTikTok, and YouTube

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s